Home > The Expat Diaries > City touring\

City touring\

Another weekend was looming, so I hit Google and typed in Jo’burg nightlife.  Quickly found jhblive.com, which lead me to pastexperiences.co.za, who organise various tours around the city. I’m not really a ‘tour’ fan, but figured I’d meet some interesting people… and be able to tell my colleagues what they’re missing out on, as, to a man, they haven’t really explored the town where we all work.

Another early Saturday am start sees us meeting up outside the Legislature Hall, where our erstwhile guide Jo started to give us the rundown on what we could see.  The next 5 hours flew by, sometimes at ground level thro’ the hustle and bustle of Saturday Shoppers, sometimes from the heady heights of the Carlton Tower, sometimes from the cultural island that is the Joburg Art Gallery, finishing up in the historic drinking den that is the Guildall.  I guessed right-  the group were at least as interesting as the guide, a mix of visitors and enthusiastic locals.  All in all, a fascinating start to the weekend, and I eagerly await future trips!

Check them out at: joburgtourguide.blogspot.com

Categories: The Expat Diaries
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment